About Creating Passport (Online Application)

When you go abroad, you need to have passport. A passport is an official document that is issued by the government to certify the holder’s identity and entitling them to travel under its protection to and from foreign countries. In Indonesia, the passport is provided by the Indonesian Directorate General of Immigration. So, passport is a card that consider our personal identity in other countries.

You can create passport at Immigration Office in your nearest city. Usually Imigration Office (Kantor Imigrasi/KANIM) Level (Kelas) I, II and III. Immigration Office Level I is located in provinces, Level II is located in cities/regencies (kota/kabupaten) and Level III is located in several selected cities such as: Bekasi, etc.

It will be better to create passport by yourself instead the passport broker, a passport broker is an individual or party (brokerage firm, agents) that provides services to create a passport. If you use a passport broker, you may pay two or three times higher than the standart passport administration cost. You can either do online application or manual appplication to create passport. Based on my experience, online passport registration saved my time than manual passport registration. How to apply passport via online application? Let me explain it in several steps:

  1. Open your browser (I used Mozilla Firefox) and go to passport online registration website.
  2. Scan your Identity Card (Kartu Tanda Penduduk/KTP), Family Registers (Kartu Keluarga/KK), Except of Birth Certificate (Akta Kelahiran). Make sure that your name typed correctly and exactly same on each of those documents.
  3. Make sure that your file is less than 200 kb and have extension *.jpeg or *.jpg.
  4. Upload your documents
  5. Choose your immigration office (you can choose it whenever, it may differ with your KTP)
  6. Choose your preferable time, it ranges 2 weeks after your online passport application submission.

My identity card is issued in Malang, but I created my passport in Immigration Office Level I in Waru, Sidoarjo. Please dress properly becouse you will be taken photos for your passport😀.

Crowded

A photo posted by オクタビアニ デウィ (@oktavianidewi27) on

I arrived at Immigration Office on 8.30 a.m and shocked that the line was very long😀. Well immigration office is always crowded. After arriving at immiration office, I filled the passport request form, signed it with 6000 IDR legal stamp (materai 6000 IDR). Then I waited in line to get a queue number in counter F. When it came into my turn, I showed my original documents and request evidence number from passport online application. Here it was my documents checklist: (1) Original and copy documents of identity card (do not cut into its size, let it be on A4 size), family registers and birth certificate; (2) Legal stamp (Materai 6000 IDR). After my documents was verified by the officer, I got a receipt informed the payment, photo and interview schedule. I was lucky that I got schedule for photo and interview session on 1.00 p.m (on that day) because I came early.

At 1.00 p.m, the counter was open (after break). I waited in line to pay passport administration fee. The passport administration fee was 255.000 IDR. After payment, I waited for photo and interview session. The photo and interview session didn’t take too much time, my passport application finished at 2 p.m. and I got receipt to take passport three days later.

Three days later, I came to immigration office and took my passport at front counter. I gave my identity card and receipt to the officer. They verified my data and taraaaaaa I got my passport😀.

Sah sah sah!

A photo posted by オクタビアニ デウィ (@oktavianidewi27) on

2 thoughts on “About Creating Passport (Online Application)

Leave a Reply

