Short Review on my Last Semester and Research Interest

Hi, happy weekend everyone! It is fall semester already! Time goes fast. 今日 わ いい 天気 です ね… Let’s write short post before I start doing anything else today.

In last spring semester, I have to pass 9 courses to apply for­ laboratory assignment. Thank God I can pass 9 courses in spring semester though I guess I didn’t put my best effort. I don’t want to do the same mistakes in coming next semesters.

In this October, I am officially registered as new member in Data Engineering laboratory, under the supervision of Prof. Iwaihara. Please visit my lab website for further information. I know he has a good portfolio and reputation in academic research. His lab research mostly about machine learning, information retrieval and text mining. These are completely new things for me. I have to learn sooooooo many things to catch up with the research.

Machine learning is about to find the models, patterns and regularities from a huge amount of data (text, image, voice and sound). Data mining is subset of machine learning disciple. It is now become new research area because of the emerging of database industry and market needs of new extraction method from large data.

It is merely a black box for me, I don’t know anything about it. But I will keep on learning. I have set my goals and I know how my future life will be if I can be expert in data engineering. A journey to a thousand miles begins with a single step, right?

I keep bookmarking these websites in my browsers, some useful websites that you can also use to understand what machine learning and data mining are.

  1. Machine Leaning Mastery
  2. Guide to Data Mining
  3. Dive Into Python
  4. Lists of Massive Online Open Course (MOOC) like Coursera, Udacity, MIT online course or Stanford online course.

As I said before, this gonna be a short post :p. I end up here, it is now time to dirt my hand with some ‘exercises’ today to heat up the day. See you in the next blog post.

Whenever you feel lost, remember your goals and never lose faith in your dream. These will keep you walk on the right track🙂

name

Leave a Reply

